Tagine of lamb kefta with lemon sauce; cold veggies – 1 August 2011

I actually USED UP a tin of turmeric. OK, I bought it 20 years ago. 30? At the Coop, which has not existed for a decade or more. But I actually did use it up! And the meal was terrific!

Why this dinner: I bought two bunches of cilantro for Saturday’s dinner (the 30th) without noticing we already had some cilantro. I used most of it Saturday, but kept half a large bunch, after looking in my Tagine cookbook and realizing I could use up the rest easily. I’ve cooked two other dishes from this cookbook, and both were fine, but unexciting. This was delicious.Two components: ground lamb meatballs (kefta) with onion, parsley, cumin, cinnamon, cayenne, and coriander; sauce with onion, crushed garlic, dried red pepper, ginger, turmeric, (water) and a lot of lemon. The kefta are cooked in the sauce, and the lemon juice and lemon wedges are added with 10 minutes to go. I actually forgot to toss on some cilantro and mint at the end, but it was great anyway.

Couscous: I use a recipe by Patricia Wells, from Patricia Wells At Home in Provence. 1 cup couscous, 3/4 tsp salt, 3 Tbsp olive oil. Mix. Add 1 1/4 cups water and mix again. Let stand 10-15 minutes till water is absorbed, fluffing from time to time. Cover with plastic wrap and microwave 2 minutes on high (I use 3 minutes). Done. It’s fabulous!

I added in some cold veggies and Picholine olives from the Cheese Board, and we had Bear Boat riesling with this, which was perfect. Yay!

This entry was posted in Meat-centered, Stew and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

