Bolani; orzo salad; zucchini – 22 July 2011

This was a “what needs using up” dinner, but it was also a very tasty one.

I bought three packages of Bolani at the Grand Lake Farmers’ Market last weekend, and we had some of those – pieces of both the lentil one and the pumpkin one. I heated them at 350, then 400, in the toaster oven, just laid out single-layered on the rack, till they were well heated. I also got out the spreads I bought with them – for the pumpkin bolani, an eggplant dip (I know, sounds weird – but it’s perfection itself). The other two dips are garlic mint cheese, and hummus with sun-dried tomatoes.

My friend J offered me some orzo salad Thursday when we were both leaving work. Since her other option was to toss it, of course I said sure – worst case being it would go into our compost if we could not use it. Well, I’m sure glad I took this! It was a most excellent pasta salad. It had eggplant, red and yellow peppers, basil, and I think parsley, and little dice of a mild feta, and was coated with a perfectly balanced dressing with oil and… what? lemon juice, perhaps? Anyway: delicious, and also very beautiful!

Which reminds me – also have some lemon bars from J that I should go take out πŸ™‚

[Added the 24th: J reports that the orzo salad is from Ann’s Catering (summer2011 menu – pdf). Here is what Ann’s has to say about it on the menu:

Orzo with Roasted Vegetables Salad
Orzo pasta with roasted eggplant, red and yellow peppers, caramelized red onion, fresh basil, pine nuts and feta cheese in a fresh lemon vinaigrette ]

Last but not least, I cooked up a small zucchini I had bought for some other reason that did not materialize. I sliced it thin, and cooked it and a small bit of white onion, sliced thin and chopped, into the mix.

D chose an old favorite ‘weekend wine’, Cantina Zaccagnini, of which I no longer feel the need to shoot the front every time πŸ˜‰ It’s a Montepulciano d’Abruzzo that we get at Costco.

This entry was posted in Meatless, Uncategorizable and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

