Pizza with tomato, feta, lemon, and cilantro – 15 July 2011


Yikes, is it the 15th of July already?? OK, I am cooking again so of course we had pizza. I made a new crust that is 1/4 whole wheat flour, and froze half the recipe. The rest was dinner.

This is a recipe from the Cheese Board’s cookbook, largely followed. I’ve written about pizza a lot before, so this is brief.

I used about 3 oz grated mozzarella, which was quite minimalist (recipe would have me use 8 oz). After cooking the crust 1 1/2 minutes or so, I strewed garlic oil over it, and about 2/3 of the grated, part-skim mozzarella (from Costco), then laid on slices of tomato (generously salted), thin slices of red onion (recipe says yellow), the rest of the mozz, and about 2 oz of French sheep feta (recipe suggests 1 1/2 oz Bulgarian). After cooking about 6 more minutes, I sprinkled on chopped cliantro, and lemon rind and juice. Here are the pizza before cooking, the pizza cooking, the pizza after cooking, and the pizza finished:

The tomato was an heirloom variety from a “bargain produce” bag D got at the Bowl this morning. It had a good taste to it. I sliced it vertically, and then cut most of the slices in half so they were almost round. I grated the zest from most of a medium lemon, and juiced a half of it, and then didn’t quite use the half (I put it in our drinking water). The cliantro was minimal – we didn’t really have enough for D’s salsa at lunch plus this. He left me a loose 1/4 cup, as called for in the recipe, but I think twice that really would be preferable.

D brought up a wonderful wine – Domaine Sorin Cotes de Provence 2007, which we get at the Bowl for $9.95 (minus 10% b/c we wait till we need a case of wines). It has some of the ‘barnyard’ overtones that are so interesting. Just a really great wine, especially for the money.

This entry was posted in Meatless, Pizza and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

