Pizza with roasted red pepper sauce, grilled eggplant, prosciutto, fresh mozzarella curd, and basil – 23 June 2011

This was a pretty good but not perfect rendition of a pizza I made last year, which was amazing the first time and has never been equalled since. Including this one, but it was still a good dinner.

I made a new recipe of pizza dough with 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, and about 1 1/2 cups white. I cooked it (at 500 degrees) about 2 minutes before topping.

I grilled eggplant slices for about 5 minutes on the first side, and 3-4 on the second, covered and on high heat. I bought a new basil bunch and tore up a few leaves, some of which were mega large!

I used the red pepper puree “as is” from the eggplant sandwiches from a few nights ago. After cooking the pizza crust, I daubed on and spread, sorta, the red pepper sauce on the pizza crust.
I topped the sauce with grilled eggplant slices, and then arranged the ultra-thin (not my intention – the guy was just into cutting them ultra-thin) prosciutto pieces, torn larger or smaller kind of at random, over and around the eggplant. Finally, I cut off some of the mozzarella curd I got on Wednesday at the Pop-up General Store, and separated it into layers and put it over the pizza. I cooked this perhaps 7 more minutes -the mozz curd did not melt into a gooey puddle as I’m used to fresh mozz doing, but that was ok.

After cooking, I placed torn basil leaves over the top.

D brought up a Chateau Saint-Sauveur Cotes du Ventoux, the 2008 version with the burgundy and white label. It was fine, but not as excellent as we know this wine can be. The more recent vintage is better.

{Written the 25th}

This entry was posted in Meat as a flavoring, Pizza and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pizza with roasted red pepper sauce, grilled eggplant, prosciutto, fresh mozzarella curd, and basil – 23 June 2011

  1. Pingback: Pizza Margherita with My Own Fresh Mozzarella! – 30 June 2011 | My 365 Dinners – 2011

Leave a Reply

