Pizza Margherita; carrot sticks – 25 May 2011

Once again we were near the end of the bread so I offered to make a pizza. D expressed a fondness for Margherita, and since it is about the easiest possible pizza and I love it, how could I disagree?

I had about 1/2 cup of margherita sauce (canned tomatoes, basil, oregano, salt and pepper) in the freezer from last time I made this pizza, and I used it all on this one. I think it could have used a bit more salt, but D was not convinced of this. I bought 2 balls (4.4 oz each) of Gustosella Mozzarella di Bufalo, and used all of it that I didn’t nibble while cutting it (only the tiniest of ends! really!). I bought $1 worth of basil at the Derby Street farmers’ market yesterday, and took off a lot of the little leaves to use on this pizza. D used some of the basil last night in the pasta sauce, and this is what is left from my $1 purchase:

The basil is tossed on after cooking. Here is the finished pizza.

It was too wet, which it has not been before. I attribute this problem to the fact that I did not cut up the mozzarella until just before putting in onto the pizza. Ordinarily, I cut it and let it stand on the cutting board for 1/2 hour or an hour or more, during which time it drains a bit. Will have to add that caveat to the recipe.

I also cut up a bit of carrot, as there is close to no veggie goodness in this pizza. OK, 1/2 a 14 oz. can of tomatoes, cooked down a lot, but still…

I asked D to get out another bottle of the 2009 People’s Wine Revolution Syrah, which I thought went very nicely with the pizza. I really enjoyed tasting the wine before dinner, too. I don’t think this is the ideal dish for this wine yet, though. It may be that both of the PWR wines prefer meats or bolder dishes.

This entry was posted in Meatless, Pizza and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

