Pizza with grilled eggplant, roasted red pepper, and Bulgarian feta – 20 May 2011

I am filling in the occasional dinner when we run out of bread – always a pizza opportunity. We had maybe 4″ left from the fatter end of a medium globe eggplant that had been sitting in the fridge for awhile, so I decided I should use it up. (This is more or less the same pizza as is shown in the banner photo above.)

I got a red pepper at the Bowl, and some of their Bulgarian feta – good to use a strong-flavored cheese for a pizza b/c it has to fight for recognition with a lot of other flavors.The eggplant I sliced into about 3/8″ – 1/2″ slices, painted with oil containing marjoram, rosemary, and thyme from the garden, plus salt and pepper (for this much eggplant, 1/4 tsp salt was too much). I grilled the eggplant, and also blackened the red pepper on all sides, on the range grill, and let the red pepper steam for quite a long time (15 minutes will do) in a small food container (don’t use a plastic bag – they are a pain to wash so you will just toss it and waste it).

I looked at a previous blog entry for such a pizza and discovered I’d thought that one was too dry for some reason, so I cut about 1/2 a yellow onion into 3/4″ dice and cooked it to softness in oil, then added the onions first after pre-cooking the crust for 1 1/2 minutes. I arranged the eggplant slices over the onions and dotted with 3/4″ squares of red pepper. I put 4 oz grated defrosted Costco part-skim mozzarella over the top, then dotted with I’m not sure how much feta, but it was pretty ubiquitous. Cooked this another 6 minutes or so (all this is at 500 degrees). It turned out well this time, even though I didn’t use garlic oil, to D’s dismay.

D chose the Colosi Nero d’Avola that we have had several times previously, and it was really enjoyable. Always nice to look at, too, though a bit strange.

This entry was posted in Meatless, Pizza and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

