Personal pizza with artichokes, soppressata, pecorino, and lemon – 27 February 2011

This was a fun bit of leftover use. There were still two artichoke pieces and change in the jar I bought for a previous pizza, and I had soppressatta in the freezer from another previous pizza, and  half a ball of fresh mozzarella di bufalo, also from a previous pizza.

I decided to make a variant of an artichoke and pancetta pizza I made in January. I started by pre-baking the crust about 1 1/2 minutes, and then added toppings. I cut the mozz into perhaps 1/3 inch pieces, and the artichokes into 3 or 4 pieces each (they are about 1/4 or 1/5 artichoke to start with). I cut the sausage (very thin sliced at purchase) into perhaps 1cm-sized pieces, arranged all these on the pre-baked crust and baked the pizza for another 6 minutes or so. After removing the pizza from the oven, I finely grated some pecorino Romano over the top I’m pretty sure (writing this on the 8th of March – ack!) that I also sprinkled with a 1:1 mix of fresh-squeezed lemon juice and olive oil – no more, and probably less, than 1 tsp each.

It was really good!

I must have had the rest of the Cantina Zaccagnini Montepulciano d’Abruzzo with this.

This entry was posted in Meat as a flavoring, Pizza and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

